Feb 232011

Two Roadrunners brought state wrestling titles home in 2011, the first time that has occurred in a decade. RJ Alvarado completed a 45-2 season with four straight wins in the 130-lb. division to place first. He also received All-Arizona honorable mention in wrestling. Josh Hatch won the 152-lb. title and closed the season with a fine 48-4 record.

Photo by Kellie Spangler/spanglerpics.com

The Holbrook High School wrestling team took eighth place at the Division IV State Wrestling Tour-nament held recently in Prescott. The squad includes (front row, left to right) RJ Alvarado, Josh Hatch, (second row) Kyle Lester, Dylan Barela, Paul Serna, Clayton Hunt, Roger Crawley, Caleb McClellan, Drew Shumway, Steven Bee, (third row) manager Erin Aragon, James Self, Shem Bow-man, Reuben Kee, Kevin Self, Shawn Gillespie, Robert Jaquez, (back row) Mathew Cano, Ronald Justman, Nikko Ferniza, Rubyn Barela, Coach John Bokker, (not pictured) Riley McClellan, Daniel Gonzales and Assistant Coach Richard Martinez.