May 272011

By Sam Conner–

During a recent assembly, more than 150 Winslow High School students received awards for sports related accomplishments. Individuals also received special awards for their outstanding contributions to all of the sports teams and related events sponsored by the school. Special awards were also presented by the Winslow Elks Lodge.

Among WHS football players, Rhett Hardy received the Bulldog Award; Brennan James, the Defensive Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award; Wendell Carter, the Offensive MVP Award; Kraig Shirley, the Inspirational Player of the Year Award; Jevon Estelle, the Most Versatile Award; and Payden Zufelt, the Glue Man Award.

Among cross country runners, Gabby Stacey received the Team Leader Award for girls; Cody Sangster, the Team Leader Award for boys; and Tyanna Lee, the Dave Conatser Award.

Among volleyball players, Mallory Smith received the Best Serve Award; Robina Villanueva, the Best Offensive Player Award; Melissa Jacobs, the Best Defensive Player Award; Brianna Begaye, the Liz McLaws Award; and Chelsea Goldtooth, the MVP Award.

Among wrestlers, Colton Corum received the Most Improved Award; Daniel Lopez, the Newcomer of the Year Award; Paul Jaramillo, the Outstanding Lower Weight Award; Jace Hardy, the Outstanding Middle Weight Award; and Cristian Delgado, the Outstanding Upper Weight Award.

Felencia Keams was the Offensive Player of the Year for girls’ basketball. Robina Villanueva was the Defensive Player of the Year, Taramika Lee was the Most Improved and Gabby Stacey won the Patty Benham Award.

Jevon Estelle received the Isaac Bonds Leadership Award for boys’ basketball; Kraig Shirley, the Claude Renfro Outstanding Player Award; Tremayne Nez, the James Lovett Spirit Award; and Johnnie Woods, the Rich Bratt Most Improved Player Award.

Megan Ackerman and Jessica Pipkins were cheer captains for support forces. Tamry Ramsey and Melanie Rivera were pom captains.

The Vargas Award for baseball went to Jevon Estelle. Matt Smith received the Offensive Player of the Year Award and Vittorio Sells, the Defensive player of the Year Award. Colton Corum was the Rookie of the Year.

Rebecca Perez was the Offensive Player of the Year for softball, and Arianna Huerta was the Defensive Player of the Year. Rookies of the Year were Halle and Jaleisa Hayes. Gabby Stacey was the Most Valuable Player. The Team Captain Award went to Melissa Jacobs. Mireya Ulibarri received the David Sedillo Achievement Award.

Wendell Carter was the Runner of the Year for boys’ track. Payden Zufelt won the Most Inspirational Award and Cody Sangster, the Most Improved Award.

Kelafer Kinlecheenie received the Runner of the Year Award for girls’ track; Brianna Macedo, the Most Inspirational Award; and Rachel Montoya, the Most Improved Award.

David Aberle received the Low Stroke Average Award for golf.

Elks Awards went to Francisco Jones for football, Halle Hayes for volleyball, Tremayne Nez for boys’ cross country, Michelle Crowfeather for girls’ cross country, Mark Oliva for boys’ basketball, Melissa Jacobs for girls’ basketball, Dalton Fatt for wrestling, Rhett Hardy for baseball, Megan Lymer for softball, Austyn Gilbert for boys’ track, Angelica Milligan for girls’ track, Kassandra Grabowski for golf, Megan Ackerman for support forces cheer, Jenny Mangus for support forces mat maids, Alexus Sedillo for support forces pom, and Katelyn Parrish for speech and debate.

Coaching awards went to Rusty Robertson as 3A North Region Football Coach of the Year and B.J. Little as Football Coaches Association Assistant Coach of the Year.

Coaches leaving their positions included Rusty Robertson from football, Ted Pate and Jack Williams from golf, Sal Hernandez from cross country, Darcey McKee from support forces and Julie Thomas from girls’ basketball.

Parents receiving awards were Valerie Smith, Deb Brown and Jackie Shirley.