Aug 172011
 

By Sam Conner–

Winslow High School’s new cross country coach, Annie Watson, a highly successful and honored athlete at Mississippi State, will face her first challenge as coach at WHS on Tuesday, Aug. 30, when she takes her teams to Polacca to compete in the Hopi Invitation. The competition will begin at 3:30 p.m. and likely feature some of the best cross country runners in Arizona in races for both boys and girls.

On Saturday, Sept. 3, the teams will compete in the Peaks Invitational at Flagstaff, another usually highly competitive meet set to begin at 8 a.m. That will be followed by the Ray Wherley Invitational at Prescott on Saturday, Sept. 10, at a time to be announced. It will be back to Flagstaff on Saturday, Sept. 17, for the Four Corners Invitational set to start at 8:30 a.m. There are open dates on the schedule for Wednesday, Sept. 21, and Saturday, Sept. 24, which may or may not be filled.

Winslow will host the Dave Conatser Invitational at 2 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 28. There should be a number of top cross country teams in town for this event.

The Desert Twilight Meet in Gilbert on Friday, Sept. 30, and the Jack Boehle Invitational at Coconino High School in Flagstaff on Saturday, Oct. 8, will announce starting times later.

The Bud Davis Invitational in Tuba City on Friday, Oct. 14, will begin at 10 a.m. The Holbrook Invitational will be the final regular season meet of the year at 12:15 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 21.

Sectional meet competition will be in Holbrook on Friday, Oct. 28, and the state meet will be on Saturday, Nov. 5, at a site and time to be determined.

The Winslow High School volleyball team will scrimmage Coconino at Flagstaff at 6 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 26. The team’s first match will be in Winslow on Wednesday, Aug. 31, against Snowflake. There will be a freshman match at 4:30 p.m., a junior varsity match at 5:30 p.m. and the varsity match at 6:30 p.m. All but one set of matches will follow that schedule of starting times.

Winslow will play Coconino at Flagstaff on Thursday, Sept. 1, before going to the Payson Invitational on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 2 and 3. Times for the tournament will be determined.

Winslow will host Window Rock on Tuesday, Sept. 6, and Coconino on Wednesday, Sept. 7. The Lady Bulldogs will play Blue Ridge at Pinetop on Thursday, Sept. 8. They will host Holbrook on Tuesday, Sept. 20.

Matches at Chinle on Wednesday, Sept. 21, will include the freshman match at 3 p.m., the junior varsity at 4 p.m. and the varsity at 5 p.m.

The Lady Bulldogs will participate in the Snowflake Invitational on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 23 and 24. Times are to be determined.

Winslow will be at Show Low on Tuesday, Sept. 27, and host Valley on Wednesday, Sept. 28. The team will play at Snowflake on Thursday, Sept. 29.

The Lady Bulldogs will host Blue Ridge on Tuesday, Oct. 4, and Tuba City on Thursday, Oct. 6. On Tuesday, Oct. 11, the junior varsity will play Valley at Sanders at 3 p.m., with the varsity match to follow at 4 p.m. No freshman match is scheduled for this day.

On Wednesday, Oct. 12, Winslow will play at Show Low and on Tuesday, Oct. 18, at Flagstaff. On Wednesday, Oct. 19, the Lady Bulldogs will play Round Valley at Eagar. The final road match of the regular season will be at Holbrook on Thursday, Oct. 20. The final match will be at Winslow on Monday, Oct. 24, against Flagstaff.

State tournament information will be determined later.