Oct 262011

By Greg Perkins–

Holbrook hosted its annual cross country invitational meet on Friday afternoon at Hidden Cove Golf course, and welcomed more than 40 teams and nearly 600 runners.

In the varsity boys’ race Chinle’s Johnathan Yazzie took first place with a time of 16.28 over the 3.1 mile course. Teammate Tracy Searle was second with a time of 16.42. Domonic Sinqua from Hopi finished third in 16.43.

Holbrook’s top runner was Melcomh Chee, who medaled with a 12th place finish in the 147-runner field, crossing the line in 17.40. Kyle Chee placed 33rd in 18.18. Bryson Keoni was 51st; Theroit Yazzie, 57th; Mark Clark, 61st; Marcos Clark, 63rd; and Cody Chee, 83rd.

Chinle won the team title with 39 points. Hopi was second with 90, followed by Zuni in third with 101. Holbrook placed eighth in the 21-team field with 206 points.

Rolonda Jumbo of Chinle easily won the girls’ race, cruising over the course in a time of 18.52. She was well ahead of second place finisher Kailee Birdinground of Tuba City, whose time was 20.32. Sara MacDonald from Pusch Ridge placed third.

Holbrook’s top runner was Col’Bi Nez, who earned a medal finishing by 10th in the 134-runner field with a time of 21.38. Miya Tom was 49th in 23.34; Tamish Yazzie, 62nd; Amber Yazzie, 92nd; Charmayne Yazzie, 94th; Glenda Tsosie, 107th; and Latanyo Lano, 109th.

Nineteen teams competed in the event with Chinle taking the top spot with 56 team points. Hopi was again second with 89. Pusch Ridge placed third with 132. Holbrook finished in ninth with 276.

In the boys’ junior varsity race, Caleb McClellan led Holbrook with a 19th place finish in a time of 19.53. Zach Tsosie placed 30th in the 112-runner field; Miles Begay, 39th; Olin Roan, 54th; Logan Tsinnijinnie, 71st; Dylan Hill, 76th; Tristan Notah, 78th; and Ian Quemyemtewa, 95th;

In the girls’ jayvee race, Jimenesha Manygoats of Holbrook placed 41st in the 82-runner field.

Holbrook will host the divisional qualifying meets for Divisions III and IV on Friday, Oct. 28, at Hidden Cove, with the first race beginning at 1 p.m.