May 232012

Photo courtesy of Holbrook Junior High School -- Holbrook Junior High School student-athletes who competed in the White Mountain League Girls’ Track Championships included (front row, left to right) Alaynna Baloo, McKenzie Thompson, Nizhonie Begay, Azalea “Oz” Buckley, Rayanna Wauneka, Alexandra Jeffers-Sample, Chanda Hayes, Jessica Todacheenie, (back row) Shayna Carlson, Morgan Zahne, Jadiana Perez, Tanisha Yazzie, Carla Plumb, Michaela Lee, manager Gwyneth Dush, Darian Hollins, and Coaches Mark McKeller and Erin Cuniffe.

The Holbrook Junior High School girls’ track team finished fifth in a field of 12 teams at the White Mountain League Championships held May 2 in Payson. Each event pitted the top eight competitors in the 13-team conference in running events, including the 100, 200, 400, 800 and 1600 meter races, and the 400 meter relay, along with the long jump, high jump and shot put, all in three separate divisions of Class A, B and C competitors.

Lady Roadrunners who scored points by placing at the meet included Darian Hollins, who took second in the Class B high jump, third in the long jump and fifth in the 100 meter dash; Azalea “Oz” Buckley, second in the Class C high jump; Alexandra Jeffers-Sample, fourth in the Class B long jump; Jessica Todacheenie, third in the Class C 1600 meter run and fifth in the 800 meter run; Alaynna Baloo, fourth in the Class C 1600 meter run; Alexandra Jeffers-Sample, Rayanna Wauneka, Tanisha Yazzie and Darian Hollins, fourth in the Class B 400 meter relay; and Michaela Lee, Shayna Carlson, Karla Plumb and Jadiana Perez, sixth in the Class A 400 meter relay.

The fifth place finish was the team’s highest finish in the team standings at the conference champion-ships in at least six years. Coaches Mark McKeller and Erin Cuniffe congratulate the efforts of those Lady Roadrunners who competed at the championships, and appreciate the hard work of the entire team that led to the successful season.

Blue Ridge won the team title for the 11th year in a row, followed by Snowflake, Show Low, Round Valley, Holbrook, Mogollon, Joseph City, Winslow, St. Johns and Rim Country. Canyon Day and Sequoia did not score.