By Naomi Hatch –
The Aquilla H. Standifird home, built in 1890 by the Willis brothers for the Brimhall family, will be open for tours from 1 to 3 p.m. on Saturday, June 30.
The Willis brothers burned lime and mixed their own mortar for the unique rock home located at 304 S. Main St. in Taylor.
Aquilla H. Standifird was born on Oct. 10, 1878, in Kanab, Utah, to John Henry and Mary Ann Argyle Standifird. John came to Taylor in March 1878 with his daughter Ann, and returned to Kanab to bring the rest of his family, arriving in Taylor Christmas Day 1879 when Aquilla was just over a year old.
Aquilla married Eva Hunt, the daughter of Bishop John Hunt, on Sept. 16, 1903. In 1905, they moved into the home. They had nine children, Virginia, Bathesheba, Faun, Faye, Fern, Marjorie, Frank Hunt, Gyle and Lorenzo Jack. Bathesheba died when she was a year and a half old. Hunt and Gyle gave their lives during World War II. They were declared missing in action in 1943, and Jack thinks that their plane went down over the North Sea, but no more is known about their disappearance. Their dad always felt that they were prisoners of war in Russia.
Jack received an honorable discharge and came back to Taylor, where he still lives.
Virginia married Monk Frost, who brought back the tradition of firing of the anvil for July 4 in 1952.
In 2004, Jack deeded the Standifird family home to the Taylor/Shumway Heritage Foundation. It features a display honoring Hunt and Gyle, including the Presidential and Purple Heart medals awarded to their fam-ily. The medals were found in a cardboard box under the floorboards by Tom Hatch and Brad Click when the home was being restored.