Jul 042012

By Sam Conner —

The Winslow Friends of the Library met at the Hubble Trading Post/Chamber of Commerce June 28 to elect new officers for the coming year.

Velma Marcotte was elected president of the Friends of the Library, succeeding Ricky Jackson. Scott Hankins was elected as vice president, Jean Glenn as secretary and Ted Pate as treasurer. Coraleen Mead, Judy Douglas, Sue Currier, Ricky Jackson and Karen Crane were elected to the board of directors.

Librarian Docia Blaylock spoke, noting that the Friends of the Library had been responsible for a number of improvements at the facility with the purchase of such items as the benches at the facility, new front and back doors, and door prizes for the summer reading program.

The club makes money from its annual book sale, which already has a good supply of books for the upcoming event. The club also gets funds from the sale of some books and other items at the library, and from donations of aluminum cans and from other items.

The library is one of the most popular and well used public facilities in Winslow, and a very frequently visited facility for many of its clients.

Blaylock announced that the library is seeking a replacement for Molly Jackson, who has accepted a position with the Winslow School System. Jackson is an extremely talented and popular person, especially with children at story time. She will be missed, but sees the change as beneficial and as going to a position which she should enjoy. Her experience at the library will prove useful in her new position, and Blaylock and all of the Friends of the Library and her fellow workers wish her every success.

Finally, winners were announced for the Altered Books contest, many of which were on display at the meeting and showed a great deal of imagination and creativity. The contest entries were judged by Winslow Arts Council President Sarah Smithson and two other members of that organization.

Smithson said that she had expected to take only about 15 minutes to do the judging, but that they had taken approximately an hour and a half as the quality of the entries were so interesting and reflected such talent.

In the student category, Nathaniel Renny-Erbst was the first place winner with Mercedes Autrey taking second place and Mallory Hilelman taking third place. Isaac Hutton won an Honorable Mention award.

In the adult category, Jody Johnson was the first place winner. Shandi Larsen took second place. Philena Phillip finished in third place. Linda Card received honorable mention. There was a Special Mention Award for Jackie Benally for her excellent and creative entry.