Feb 062013

By Sam Conner
The Winslow Bulldogs defeated the Holbrook Roadrunners on the road last Wednesday, then returned home Thursday to close out the regular season with a 66-50 win over the Tuba City Warriors. That left the Bulldogs with a 16-12 record and hoping for a berth in the sectional tournament. It also ended the season with a three-game winning streak.
The Bulldogs and the Roadrunners were tied 9-9 after the first period of play, but Holbrook had a 27-23 lead at the half. The Bulldogs cut the lead to 38-36 in the third quarter and outscored the Roadrunners 19-7 in the final period to take the victory.
Success at the charity line was a huge factor in the Bulldog win. Winslow was 17 of 23 from the line, while Hol-brook was seven of eight. The Bulldogs were nine of 11 from the charity stripe in the crucial fourth quarter. Holbrook did not shoot a free throw in that period.
Michael Goldtooth led all scorers with 30 points for Winslow, including 10 of 11 free throws, followed by Stevin Nelson with 15.
Marlin Martin led Holbrook with 17 points.
Winslow 9 14 13 19 55
Holbrook 9 18 11 7 45
Winslow: Lukas Shirley 2, Stevin Nelson 15, Akeem Foster 2, Michael Goldtooth 30, Vincenzio Sells 2, Demetrius Gamez 2 and Timmy Little 2.
Holbrook: Marlin Martin 17, Dontae Hollins 4, Brandon Bitsui 4, Kyle Chee 3, Sheldon Silversmith 7, Andon Hatch 8 and Tristan Zahne 2.
The Bulldogs started strong against Tuba City and led 19-13 after the first quarter of play. The second quarter was better, as they built a commanding 37-22 advantage. The margin was 55-37 after three quarters of play.
Goldtooth led all scorers with 23 points for the Bulldogs, followed by Nelson with 10.
Alonzo Thompson led Tuba City with 12 points, followed by Tristen Begay with 11 and Kendrick Begay with 10.
Tuba City 13 9 15 13 50
Winslow 19 18 18 11 66
Tuba City: Christian Begody 4, Rogerson Foster 2, Alonzo Thompson 12, Tristen Begay 11, Reilly Laughter 1, Kendrick Begay 10, Tyler Johnson 4, Roland Becenti 2 and Malcolm Goldtooth 4.
Winslow: Milland Thomas 7, Lukas Shirley 5, Stevin Nelson 10, Keenan Keams 3, Michael Goldtooth 23, Vincen-zio Sells 2, Jesi Bitsoi 4 and Timmy Little 7.