By Linda Kor
Arizonians who legally carry a concealed weapon in their home state will not be recognized as such in Nevada. A vote last week by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association (NvSCA) has changed a law that recognized Arizona concealed weapons permits as legal in that state. The decision was made after the organization was informed that Arizona’s requirement standards have been changed and are now below those of Nevada’s.
In early February, Las Vegas area firearms instructors notified the NvSCA that Arizona had substantially altered its training requirements to standards below those required by Nevada. In response, the Nevada Department of Public Safety contacted the Arizona Department of Public Safety to conduct an audit and DPS confirmed that changes had taken place in 2010.
Arizona amended the concealed carry law in 2010 allowing residents over 21 years of age to carry a concealed weapon without a permit. While the law still has specific requirements, including that the applicant receive firearms instruction taught by a National Rifleman’s Association certified instructor, it no longer requires that training to include live-fire training. That change, along with the removal of statutory minimum training requirements, marksmanship and judgmental shooting requirements, was what prompted the decision.
As a result, even with a concealed carry permit, Arizonians found with a concealed weapon in Nevada could be charged with carrying an illegally concealed firearm in that state. To do so is considered a felony, a charge that could mean one to five years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.
Nevada is not the only border state that doesn’t recognize Arizona’s concealed carry permit as legal. According to the Department of Public Safety, neither does California.
Powered by Max Banner Ads
By Linda Kor