Mar 202013

By Naomi Hatch
Jason Brubaker, Carl Cosper and David Smith were elected to the Taylor Town Council in the March 12 primary election, according to the unofficial results. Lynn DeWitt will be on the May 21 general election ballot, but his opponent has not yet been determined. Fewer than 10 votes separate the next three candidates, Councilman Alan Ramage, Erin Amos and Vice Mayor Jane Lee, and a recount will be held to determine the top vote getter among the three.
Town Attorney Sterling Solomon noted that, “The recount process takes several days, because ARS Section 16-662 requires the current town council to canvass the election results and then requires that the town certify to the Navajo County Superior Court that a recount is required because candidates are separated by less than 10 votes. The court will order that a recount be performed and then the recount will be performed by the Taylor Election Board.”
A total of 570 votes were cast, including 277 early ballots and 293 ballots cast at the polls.
Brubaker led the field with 349 votes, followed by Cosper with 328; Smith, 330; DeWitt, 261; Ramage, 232; Amos, 230; Lee, 223; and Ron Bish, 137.
To be elected outright in the primary, candidates had to receive 50 percent of the votes plus one, or more than 284.