May 222013

By Naomi Hatch
In a special meeting of the Taylor Town Council held May 15, Town Engineer Stu Spaulding asked that Don Shumway, Bonnie Adams, Jason Hatch and David Hamblin fill terms on the Planning and Zoning Commission that have expired or will expire in June, and that Ralph Schreiber continue with his term.
A motion to appoint Shumway, Adams, Hatch and Hamblin to fill the vacant terms on the commission passed unanimously.
Spaulding also noted that staff is moving forward in setting up committees to revise the town’s general plan, and has sent out 500 letters to land owners and business owners seeking input on zoning from them.
Two committees have been set up. One is the Land Committee, which includes Tammy Nichols, Kirk Brimhall and Arvin Palmer. They will decide on the zoning. The Economic Commission already exists explained Spaulding. It has not been meeting, but is already organized.
Spaulding said that the Land Committee is an ad hoc committee, and that the Code Committee is comprised of three members of the town council, Jason Brubaker, Carl Cosper and Shawn Palmer.
Spaulding explained that the Planning and Zoning Commission will determine what zones to have in Taylor, noting the existing general plan follows Chandler’s and is not appropriate for Taylor.