By Naomi Hatch
The Aquilla H. Standifird Home in Taylor, built in 1890 by the Willis brothers for the Brimhall family, will be open for tours from 1 to 3 p.m. on Saturday, July 6.
The Willis brothers burned lime and mixed their own mortar for the unique rock home located at 304 S. Main St.
Aquilla H. Standifird was born Oct. 10, 1878, in Kanab, Utah, to John Henry and Mary Ann Argyle Standifird. John came to Taylor in March 1878 with his daughter Ann, and returned to Kanab to bring the rest of his family, arriving in Taylor on Christmas Day 1879 when Aquilla was just over a year old.
Aquilla married Eva Hunt, the daughter of Bishop John Hunt, on Sept. 16, 1903. They had nine children, Virginia, Bathesheba, Faun, Faye, Fern, Marjorie, Frank Hunt, Gyle and Lorenzo Jack. Bathesheba died when she was just a year and a half old. Hunt and Gyle gave their lives during World War II, both serving on a plane that went down over the North Sea in 1943. Virginia married Monk Frost, who brought back the tradition of firing the anvil at celebrations in 1952.
In 1905, Aquilla Standifird and his family moved into the home.
Hunt and Gyle were declared missing in action and their brother Jack thought they went down over the North Sea, but no more is known about their disappearance. Their dad always felt that they were prisoners of war in Russia.
Jack received an honorable discharge and came back to Taylor, where he still lives.
In 2004 Jack deeded the Standifird family home to the Taylor/Shumway Heritage Foundation. It features a display honoring Hunt and Gyle, including the Presidential and Purple Heart medals awarded to their family. The medals were found in a cardboard box under the floorboards by Tom Hatch and Brad Click when the home was being restored.
Powered by Max Banner Ads
By Naomi Hatch