Sep 062013

By Greg Perkins
Competing in their first meet of the season, the Hopi Invitational, the Holbrook Roadrunners placed fourth among 13 teams in the boys’ division and eighth out of 11 teams in the girls’ division.
Page took the overall boys’ team title with 28 points, followed by Tuba City with 50, Hopi with 102 and Holbrook with 128.
Anthony Masayesva from Page won the individual title with a time of 16.38.
Holbrook was led by Kyle Chee, who placed 12th in the 83-runner field with a time of 18.14. Mark Clark was 22nd in 18.58; Triston Zahne, 25th in 19.08; Kendrick Nez, 30th in 19.26; Marcos Clark, 39th in 19.56; Ryan Keyonnie, 47th in 20.12; and Ryan Bia, 50th in 20.29.
Ganado’s Nikesha Eagleman took top individual honors in the girls’ race with a time of 20.46. Page also won the girls’ team title scoring 60 points. Hopi placed second with 67. Monument Valley and Ganado tied for third place with 72 points each.
Miya Tom paced the Lady Roadrunners, finishing in 19th place with a time of 23.28. Johanna Tsosie was 46th in 25.55; LaShaundra Tsosie, 54th in 27.01; Morgan Zahne, 59th in 27.37; Raeanna Bahe, 69th in 29.00; and Jayne Sandoval, 72nd in 29.27. Overall, 78 runners competed in the meet.