Oct 112013

By Nick Worth
The Navajo County Board of Supervisors accepted the back-tax land list at their regular meeting on Tuesday.
In a unanimous action, the board accepted the list of 310 parcels and gave authorization to publish the notice of the list. They also learned of the 2013 Back-Tax Land Online Auction, set to begin at 9 a.m. on Monday, Oct. 28.
Clerk of the Board Melissa Buckley told the supervisors there are 209 parcels on the list from this year. Added to those properties from 2010, 2011 and 2012 which have not sold, the total number of parcels up for sale is 310.
In response to a question from District III Supervisor Sylvia Allen, Buckley told the board the number of delinquent properties is up this year, with 209 parcels as opposed to 116 in 2012.
Of the total of 139 parcels offered in last year’s first try at an online auction, 68 received bids and of those, 34 were actually purchased. Buckley told The Tribune-News that in the previous four years of back-tax land auctions, only four parcels had been sold.
“I’d like to thank Melissa for taking this to the Internet and changing the way we do the government’s business,” said County Manager James Jayne. “She puts in a lot of hours preparing this and I think she deserves our thanks.”
The board then expressed its thanks to Buckley.
In other action Oct. 8, the board:
* Appointed Bill Arendell and James Maloney to the Navajo County Board of Adjustment.
* Designated Maxine Tyler as point of contact for the Navajo County Attorney’s Office with the Law Enforcement Coordination Unit.
* Approved a standard software maintenance agreement between New World Systems Corporation and Navajo County.
* Approved a letter to citizens from Chairman Jonathan Nez for the fiscal year 2013-14 budget book.
* Approved amendment No. 9 to the contract for program year 11 of the Workforce Investment Act for extension of incentive funds in the amount of $48,434.
* Heard a presentation by Navajo County Fair Board President Michael Sample, who reported on the 2013 county fair. Sample told the board the fair was a success.
“All the events went well and we had big crowds,” Sample said. “The gates were down only $135 from last year’s fair.”
* Participated in the ceremonial crowning of some of the Navajo County Rodeo Queens.
“Eight girls tried out and all of them were great,” said Rodeo Queen Pageant Director Jill Gillespie.
The supervisors crowned and presented belt buckles to Teen Queen Taliea Bice of Prescott, Princess Sydney Phillips of Queen Creek and Little Buckaroo Queen Amber Herzmann of Taylor.
* Approved a liquor license application from the Dollar General LLC in Overgaard. Dollar General store manager Clare Abel told the board the store is more a general store.
“We sell all types of groceries except for produce,” Abel said.
Allen asked what type of liquor would be sold at the store.
Abel replied that they were only applying for a beer and wine license, and that no hard liquor would be sold.
The board then approved the license request unanimously.
* Approved an addendum to the June 30, 2010, memorandum of understanding for Mexican Wolf Conservation.
* Approved the fiscal year 2013 Homeland Security Grant Award for $4,030.
* Approved amended funding agreements with State of Arizona Department of Housing for Community Development Block Grant Projects at the Snowflake Academy Building and the Pinetop-Lakeside Senior Center.
* Heard an update from Carla Fails and Andrea Harings on the Workforce Investment Act Program in Navajo and Apache counties.
* Approved amendment No. 1 to the contract for supply of aggregate for cover material with Brimhall Sand and Rock and Building Materials, Inc., and Hatch Construction & Paving, Inc. to extend the contract for one additional year through Oct. 10, 2014.
* Approved the 12th amendment to a revolving credit agreement and request for modification of commitment amount for the Blue Ridge Unified School District.
* Adopted a resolution approving polling places and poll workers for the 2013 general election.
* Gave five-year personal service awards to Holly Nelson, Krista Luna, Scott Jamar, Kirstie Young, Jayla Johnstun, Jason Cash, Alden Whipple, Laura Mudge, Kendra Dale, Christian Starns, Jose Lerma and Richard McClellan. Awards for 10 years of service to the county were given to Sandra Oberriter, Patty Graham, Davè Rodriguez, Wilfred John, Leann Baker and James Jayne. Salli Baldonado received a 15-year award, and William Barnard and Eileen Rogers each were given a 20-year award.
* Approved personnel actions.
Acting as the Navajo County Public Health Services District Board of Directors, the board:
* Approved amendment No. 4 to the yearly contract with the state for the emergency preparedness program.