Oct 232013

By Greg Perkins
Competing at the Bruin Invitational meet during fall break, the Roadrunners placed sixth as a team despite missing their top runners. Seven teams competed, with Hopi winning its own meet with 31 points. Chinle was second with 53, followed by Piñon with 71, Red Mesa, 109, Many Farms, 114, Holbrook, 185, and Payson, 190.
Hopi also took the top two individual spots, with Anfernee Howard winning the race in 16:55. Teammate Terry Honventewa placed second with a time of 17:14.
Kendrick Nez was Holbrook’s top runner, placing 25th with a time of 19:09. Roy Begay finished 40th in 20:55; followed by Ryan Bia, 42nd in 21:30; Coy Begay, 45th in 22:06; and Elliot Pete, 47th in 22:20. Fifty-one runners competed in the 3.1-mile race.
Jayden Johns was the only runner for Holbrook in the junior varsity race, where he finished 35th with a time of 26:52.
Hopi also took the team title in the girls’ varsity race scoring only 21 points. Chinle was second with 53, Payson was third with 60, Piñon was fourth with 109 and Holbrook was fifth with 139.
The Lady Bruins took the top three spots and five of the top 10 to show their dominance. Claryn Josytewa won the race with a time of 20:41. Christen Ben was close behind in 20:47. Jannaya Day placed third with a time of 20:56. Kaitlyn Billy was seventh, Randi Lomayestewa was eighth and Sonya Sahmea placed 10th for the Bruins.
Holbrook’s top runner was Glenda Tsosie, who finished 26th with a time of 24:59. Her sister LaShaundra Tsosie was 30th in 25:21; followed by Johanna Tsosie, 33rd in 27:33; Morgan Zahne, 34th in 27:41; and Samantha Lister, 35th in 30:01. Thirty-five runners competed in the race.