Dec 042013

By Greg Perkins
The Pat Kenny Invitational will kick off the wrestling season for Coach John Bokker and his Holbrook team this season. The invitational begins on Friday, Dec. 6, and concludes the next day at Tony Muñoz Gym.
Coach Bokker is excited about this year’s squad. Despite moving up from Division IV to Division III, the Roadrunners have high hopes.
“We are returning five state placers this year. Shem Bowman, third place; CJ Plumb, fourth; Theron Johns, fourth; Nikko Ferniza, fifth; and James Ramirez, sixth, all return. This is the strongest team across the board that we have had in years. We are lead by a solid group of seniors and some very tough young wrestlers. It should be an exciting year,” said the coach.
Seniors on the team include Nikko Ferniza, Shem Bowman, Clayton Hunt, CJ Plumb, Kevin Self, Angel Aguilera and Tierra Kurley. They will be joined by juniors Theron Johns, Mathew Gishi, Wade Biakeddy, James Sumpter, Sheron Yazzie, Christian Young, Josh Valero, Bryant Martin, Ryan Etsitty, Trey White, and Dominick Spencer; sophomores Sam Plumb, Noah Barela, Levi McClellan, Jedde Bowman, James Ramirez, Mac Stump, Adriano Sam, Tylor LubilNaghahi, Nizhonie Begay and Keaton Clark; and freshmen Shane McGraw, Justin Richards, Robert Romo, Kohl Potts, Jared Todacheenie and David Laughter.
Managers will be Demi Phaturos, Ciera Shumway and Samantha Serna.