Powered by Max Banner Ads 
Dec 182013

By Linda Kor
Members of the Navajo County Fair Board unanimously approved expanding the board from 15 to 21 directors Dec. 5. Rusty DeSpain moved to make the changed, but it was J.R. DeSpain who cited a desire to increase the board in order to have more volunteers to pursue sponsors for the annual county fair.
The date for the annual meeting was set for 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 8, at the Navajo County Fairgrounds in Holbrook, which is when the election will take place. With the addition of the six positions, there will be a total of 11 seats that will need to be filled next month. Board members whose terms are expiring include Trent Larson, Wes DeSpain, Steve Gouker, Leah Thomas and Sarah Hansen. Last month board member Jake Hatch submitted his resignation to the board, citing a busy work schedule, but at this meeting J.R. DeSpain moved to rescind the resignation and the motion was unanimously supported by the board. With that decision, Hatch will remain on the board for one more year.
To date, none of the members whose terms are expiring have stated whether they will seek re-election.
To be considered for the board, a candidate must be at least 18 years of age and a resident of Navajo County for at least one year, they must also be sponsored by a current board member, and submit a letter of intent and a biography to the Navajo County Fair Office, located at 404 E. Hopi Drive in Holbrook, no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 23. That information may also be mailed to Navajo County Fair, P.O. Box 309, Holbrook, Ariz. 86025. For more information, contact the fair office at (928) 524-4757. The names of all candidates will be published in The Tribune-News.
Each person wanting to vote for an individual seeking election must also be at least 18 years of age and a resident of Navajo County for at least one year. Those individuals must register with the secretary and show proper identification at least 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the annual meeting.
In other business, the board also amended the by-laws to state that special meetings may be called by the board president, or by a petition of any seven members of the board of directors, with 24-hour notice. The by-laws were also amended to state that seven members of the board present at any annual, regular or special meeting shall constitute a quorum.