Dec 272013

By Sam Conner
The Winslow Winter Classic All-Tournament Team was announced after the championship game on Saturday.
All-Tournament players included Madison Fields of Joseph City; Heather Todichine and Oliyaj Shirley, both of Monument Valley; Jessica Neff of Snowflake; Tierra Littleman and Tate Tsingine both of Tuba City; Lanai Curby of Chinle; Alexis Calderon of Choll; Mysty Hayes of Westwood; Leigh Curley and Naomi Klah, both of Window Rock; and Halle Hayes, Marcella Joe and Shandiin Armao, all of Winslow.
Between the game and that announcement, trophies and other awards were given to the tournament champion Winslow Lady Bulldogs and the runners-up Tuba City Lady Warriors.
Awards were presented by Mr. and Mrs. Jimmy Cox, longtime sponsors of the tournament. They have been sponsors since former Lady Bulldog Coach Don Petranovich created the tournament, which quickly became a premier girls’ basketball tournament that has drawn teams from many Arizona schools and from other states, including a team from Alaska.