Jan 242014

The Navajo County Historical Society Board of Directors accepted six letters of interest Jan. 17 from residents interested in serving three-year terms on the board.
Seated on the board during the regular meeting were Mary Bragg, Darlene Brinkerhoff, William Fee, Tammy Gray, Richard Peterson and D.V. Stuart. With board members Matthew Barger, Betty Heward, Nicole Young, Vic Bork and JoLynn Fox, the board now has 11 members. Marlin Gillespie, whose term will expire in March, indicated several months ago that he would not seek another term. His service and dedication to the historical society and museum have been of great value and are greatly appreciated.
NCHS is a non-profit organization that has maintained and operated the museum in the historic county courthouse for more than 30 years. Its collections and archived records have grown over the years, a testament to everyone, from Garnet Franklin and Zelda Gray and their many volunteers, supporters and donors, to those who continue their work today, who all made the museum possible. During the past three years more than two dozen volunteer workers have donated more than 8,700 hours of labor.
The board also discussed the 2014 annual membership enrollment plans. In 2013 there were 25 paid members, who paid dues totaling $985. In addition, several members made significant donations during the year that helped fund several improvements and additions to displays.
The NCHS annual meeting is to be scheduled in March.