Feb 192014

By Sam Conner
The Show Low Cougars won the championship of the Division III Sectional Tournament with a 51-48 victory over the Winslow Bulldogs in overtime in a game played at Show Low on Saturday. The loss dropped Winslow’s record to 20-12 for the season going into the Arizona State Division III Tournament.
The Bulldogs led 9-8 after the first quarter, but trailed 29-19 at the half. The margin was cut to 34-31 by the end of the third quarter and tied 41-41 at the buzzer ending regulation. Show Low won the game in the overtime period, although the Bulldogs had led with half a minute left to play.
Sean Potter led all scorers with 21 points for Show Low. Jackson Jessop was also in double figures for the Cougars with 13 points. Daniel Brackney scored only 5 points for the Cougars, but four were important field goals in the overtime period and the other a free throw late in the fourth quarter.
Keenan Keams led Winslow with 10 points. Milland Thomas with 9 points, and Stevin Nelson and Frank Kelly with 8 each were key to the Bulldog effort.
Show Low 8 21 5 7 10 51
Winslow 9 10 12 10 7 48
Show Low: Sean Potter 21, Sam Tate 7, Brice Rova 5, Jackson Jessop 13 and Daniel Brackney 5.
Winslow: Keenan Keams 10, Trelonnie Sanders 3, Demetrius Gamez 5, Milland Thomas 9, Stevin Nelson 8, Frank Kelly 8, Austyn Mattox 1 and Savion Fuller 4.
The Bulldogs defeated the Alchesay Falcons 62-59 last Wednesday at Ganado to earn a berth in the sectional championship game. Show Low defeated the Snowflake Lobos in the other semifinal game, 55-49.
The Bulldogs had a narrow 10-7 lead after the first quarter and led at the half by the same margin 26-23. A good third quarter left Winslow with a 44-34 advantage going into the fourth quarter, but the Falcons rallied and the game was not decided until the final buzzer.
Arnold Walker of Alchesay led all scorers with 18 points, followed by Rashaan Stover with 14 for the Falcons.
Trelonnie Sanders led the Bulldogs with 15 points, Nelson added 14 points and Keams had 13.
Alchesay 7 16 11 25 59
Winslow 10 16 18 18 62
Alchesay: Brennan Alchesay 6, Timothy Hinton 8, Rashaan Stover 14, Austin James 3, Arnold Walker 18, Cody Clendon 4 and Sace Velasquez 6.
Winslow: Keenan Keams 13, Trelonnie Sanders 15, Demetrius Gamez 2, Milland Thomas 9, Stevin Nelson 14, Frank Kelly 2 and Trevor Begay 7.