Apr 232014

By Linda Kor
The Holbrook Chamber of Commerce has announced its selection for this year’s Community Service Awards. These recipients were selected for their outstanding contributions to the community of Holbrook. They include Paul Ortega, Man of the Year; Wendy Skevington, Woman of the Year; and Talaina Fisher, Youth of the Year. Hopi Travel Plaza will be honored as Business of the Year and the Holbrook Painted Desert Kiwanis Club as Civic Organization of the Year.
These recipients will be recognized for their contributions to the community of Holbrook at the Spring Savor and Community Awards scheduled from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 24, at the Stars building, located at 265 Navajo Blvd.
This event will also feature food from Holbrook’s finest restaurants, as well as a dessert auction and raffle. The public is invited and encouraged to take part in this event. Tickets are $8 per person and are available at the chamber office, located at city hall, 465 First Ave.