May 302014

By Linda Kor

The results of the Winslow general special election held May 20 show that Robin Boyd has retained his position as mayor with 984 votes, or 78 percent of those cast.

Filling the three vacant council seats will be Harold Soehner who was re-elected with 680 votes, or 54 percent of the vote; former councilman Thomas Chacon, who received 615 votes, or 49 percent; and Curtis Hardy, who retained his seat with 567 votes, or 45 percent.

Others seeking a seat on the council included Judy Howell, who had 527 votes, or 42 percent; Marsha Juergens, who lost her seat with 515 votes, or 41 percent; Jim Weldon with 406 votes, or 32 percent; and a total of 15 write-in votes equal to one percent of the votes cast.

Councilmen Marshall Losey and Peter Cake have two years remaining on their terms.

In addition, Proposition 403, which extends the one percent capital improvement tax for an additional 20 years, passed with 729 votes in favor and 347 against.