Jun 132014

By Linda Kor

Members of the Holbrook School District Governing Board met in Indian Wells on Tuesday, where they approved a proposed $22.9 million budget for the 2014-15 fiscal year. At the July board meeting, members of the community will be given time to make comments on the budget during a public hearing before the board approves the final budget. Highlights from the budget include a slight increase of four-tenths of one percent in the Maintenance and Operation budget, and a 1.9 percent increase in expenditures for regular education instruction and special education instruction. In addition, the excessive property tax valuation judgment payment to Transwestern Pipeline budgeted at $666,245 is planned for payment in fiscal year 2014-15. Unrestricted capital outlay funding is projected to decrease by 23.3 percent, and it was noted that there would be no increase to the overall combined primary and secondary local property tax. The board also reviewed the district’s performance pay goals and awarded Superintendent Dr. Robbie Koerperich performance pay totaling $2,700, which is equal to that received by all teachers and administrators who have met their goals. In other action June 10, the board: * Approved the hiring of Dr. Jeff Meeks as the district’s Special Education director. * Approved governing board meeting dates for the 2014-15 school year. * Authorized the superintendent, executive secretary and all governing board members to attend all Arizona School Boards Association sponsored conferences during the 2014-15 academic year. * Approved administering the Navajo Youth Risk Behavior Survey in grades six to 12 in the fall. * Approved performance pay for all certified teachers and administrators. * Authorized acceptance of the $5,000 Lowe’s Toolbox for Education grant for Park Elementary School’s Where the Wild Things Grow garden. * Approved the use of vendors Duane Gagnon, Eleutheria, LLC, and Arizona Psychology Services to provide psychological services for the 2014-15 school year. * Approved changes to the post-retirement employment option procedure, as required by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. * Approved renewal of the client service agreement with Educational Services Incorporated for the 2014-15 school year. * Held the first reading of revisions to the policy Reporting Child Abuse/Child Protection, which updates reporting methods, including electronic reporting for non-emergency reporting. * Approved a policy update pertaining to the evaluation of professional staff. * Approved the support staff hiring of Kendrick Begay, bus driver/custodial grounds; Helvina Attakai, substitute custodian; Tony Aguilera, Holbrook High School head boys’ soccer coach; Veronica Dale, HHS secretary; Patsy Barela, substitute day care and cafeteria; LeAnn Turley, substitute secretary; Perci Lee, substitute payroll clerk; and Aaron Garisto, Hulet Elementary School high needs para-professional. * Approved the certified staff hiring of Heidi Hunsaker, substitute music teacher; Jeannette Maxwell, Indian Wells Elementary School teacher; Mary Whitten, Ann Darling and Sue Wischmann, substitute teachers; Lois Jeffers, substitute teacher/tester; and Delmar Johnson, HHS/Holbrook Junior High School resident substitute teacher/SPED aide substitute. * Approved the terminations of Levi Reyes, and Henry Spencer Sr., both as substitute custodians. * Approved extra-duty for Chris Symancyk and Tim Gurczynski, HJHS Fuel Up to Play 60 stipends; Faith Caffey, Cheryl Carlson, Sylvia Jackson, Dale Larsen, James Mendell, Ginny Novell and Jeff Strong, HHS spring 2014 dual enrollment; Delmar Johnson, HHS head boys’ basketball coach; Margarita Newton-Pender, Park School summer school; Shannon Knight, HHS summer school; Stephanie Bifano and Monica Fancher, school registration; Mori Judge, Annie Bahe and Leroy Black, IWES summer school bus drivers; Earlene Lano, IWES summer school bus driver/grounds; Mary Tsosie, summer school bus driver; Linda Parker, Park School library inventory; Kendrick Begay and Timothy Begay, summer grounds workers; Cory Hollins and Daniel Orton, IWES basketball summer camp helpers; Tanya Phaturos and Keith Wheeler, HJHS student services stipend; Melody Myers, IWES mentor; Donna Campbell, HHS academic coach; and Beth Plumb, Aaron Allooh, LouAnn McLaws and Andrea Speers, HJHS summer Flexbooks curriculum. * Approved Earl Kester as a volunteer for the HHS boys’ basketball program. * Approved professional leave for Janelle Chee and Melissa John, Navajo School Clothing Program, May 20 in Window Rock at an estimated cost of use of a district vehicle; Renee Alley and Adicia Paschal, Student Assistance Program, June 4-6 in Phoenix at an estimated cost of $752, plus use of a district vehicle; Dave Wright, Stephanie Peters, Nancy Bowen, Cheri Grau, Josh Raisor, Taylor Lee, Cheryl Carlson and Donna Campbell, Crisis Intervention, June 2 and 3 in Phoenix at an estimated cost of $3,008, plus use of a district vehicle; Lance Phaturos, Dan Nielson, Cindy Percy, Paul Demuth, Jeremy Madison, Gretchen Madison, Cheryl Carlson, Dan Mitchell, Justin Madden and Donna Campbell, Support Group Training, June 5 in Flagstaff at an estimated cost of use of a district vehicle; Nicole Moyte, Crisis Intervention, June 3 in Phoenix at an estimated cost of $540; Robbie Koerperich, Deb Koerperich, Lance Phaturos, Tanya Phaturos, Tim Newton-Pender, Jeri McKinnon, Marlena Day, Mike McClellan, Charlie Haussman and Connie McPherson, Teach Like a Champion Training, July 7-11 in Tempe at an estimated cost of $23,600, plus use of a district vehicle; Connie Gover and Peggy Redmon, SOS Annual Sped Date, June 6 in Flagstaff at an estimated cost of $22, plus use of a district vehicle; and Virginia Pond, Orff Teacher Education Workshop, June 16-27 in Logan, Utah, at an estimated cost of $650. * Approved gifts and donations of $369.22 from Wells Fargo; $265.96 from DonorsChoose.org; science supplies from Northern Arizona University; and $1,007.23 worth of miscellaneous supplies from the University of Arizona 4-H Program. * Approved expense and revolving fund vouchers totaling $651,055.14, and payroll and expense vouchers totaling $2,556,040.91.