Aug 292014

By Francie Payne

Holbrook Justice of the Peace Evelyn Marez won re-election in Tuesday’s primary and B.J. Little won the race for Winslow Justice of the Peace, according to unofficial results available Wednesday morning.

Marez defeated Robert E. Salabye in the Democratic primary, 778 votes to 596. There were three write-in votes. She faces no opposition in the general election.

Little defeated Ray Rardin in the Democratic primary, 935 to 456. There were three write-in votes. He will also run unopposed in November.

Kayenta Justice of the Peace Susie Nelson also won re-election, defeating Delphina Clitso-Francis 1,794 to 1,042 in the Democratic primary. There were seven write-in votes.

Candidates for other Navajo County offices who were unopposed in the primary included: Deanne Romo (D), Clerk of the Superior Court, 6,535 votes, 47 write-ins; Ralph Hatch (D), Superior Court Judge Division I, 6,603 votes, 69 write-ins; Fred Peterson (R), Snowflake Justice of the Peace, 1,848 votes, 22 write-ins; Steve Price (R), Show Low Justice of the Peace, 1,589 votes, 20 write-ins; David Widmaier (D), Pinetop Justice of the Peace, 729 votes, three write-ins; Phyllis Romo (D) Holbrook Constable, 1,197 votes, 18 write-ins; Madeline “Pauline” Hernandez (D), Winslow Constable, 1,213 votes, five write-ins; Dave Wood (R), Snowflake Constable, 1,839 votes, nine write-ins; Lita Dixon (D), Kayenta Constable, 2,626 votes, 22 write-ins; Scott Tipton (R), Show Low Constable, 1,531 votes, 11 write-ins; and Ryan Reinhold (D), Pinetop constable, 758 votes, one write-in. All were elected outright with the exception of Price, who will face Independent Sara Owens in the General election for the office of Show Low Justice of the Peace.

District 1 Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick, a Flagstaff Democrat, drew 6,944 votes in Navajo County and 45,027 district-wide. She will face Republican Andy Tobin of Paulden in the general election. Tobin garnered 2,720 votes in Navajo County and 15,643 in the district, defeating Gary Kiehne of Eagar, 2,658 and 15,163, and Adam Kwasman of Oro Valley, 1,422 and 12,403.

Results for statewide offices were less certain, as Cochise County experienced technical difficulties with the tabulation of ballots and were not included in the totals available at press time Wednesday.

Doug Ducey of Paradise Valley earned the Republican nomination for governor with 2,505 votes in Navajo County and 149,281 statewide, defeating Ken Bennett of Phoenix, 823 and 49,674, Christine Jones of Phoenix, 1,484 and 66,644, Frank Riggs of Cave Creek, 495 and 18,339, Scott Smith of Mesa, 1,332 and 90,681, and Andrew P. Thomas of Phoenix, 636 and 35,034.

In the general election, Ducey will face Democrat Fred Duval of Phoenix, who garnered 6,132 votes in Navajo County and 225,037 across the state, John Lewis Mealer of Pinetop, representing the Americans Elect Party, 54 and 629, and Libertarian Barry J. Hess of Glendale, 71 and 3,282.

The late Chester Crandell, who served as the District 6 state senator, received 1,919 votes in Navajo County and 12,117 district-wide. His spot on the general election ballot will be filled by the party’s precinct committeemen representing the four counties within Legislative District 6, including Navajo, Coconino, Gila and Yavapai, who will meet on Saturday, Aug. 30, to nominate a candidate. That candidate’s name will be placed on the ballot for the general election, where he or she will face Tom O’Halleran, a Sedona Independent.

District 6 State Representatives Brenda Barton of Safford and Bob Thorpe of Flagstaff, both Republicans, faced no opposition in the primary election, but will face off with Democrat Lanny Morrison of Flagstaff in the general election for two House seats. Tuesday, Barton received 2,152 votes in Navajo County and 11,545 in the district; Thorpe, 2,388 and 13,544; and Morrison, 739 and 9,453.

Michele Reagan of Phoenix won the Republican nomination for secretary of state with 2,499 votes in Navajo County and 167,747 statewide. She defeated Wil Cardon of Mesa, 1,715 and 83,636, and Justin Pierce, also of Mesa, 2,671 and 132,456, and will meet Democrat Terry Goddard of Phoenix in the general. Goddard drew 6,617 votes in Navajo County and 240,186 across the state.

Attorney General Tom Horne, a Phoenix Republican, lost his bid for re-election in the primary. He received 3,733 votes in Navajo County and 182,234 in the state. Mark Brnovich, also of Phoenix won the Republican nomination with 3,331 votes in Navajo County and 213,880 statewide. He will face Democrat Felecia Rotellini of Phoenix in November. Rotellini received 6,559 votes in Navajo County and 230,482 across the state.

Republican Jeff DeWit of Peoria will be the state’s next treasurer. He drew 3,737 votes in Navajo County and 163,886 statewide to defeat Hugh Hallman of Tempe, 1,639 and 120,675, and Randy Pullen of Phoenix, 1,200 and 82,186, in the primary. He faces no opposition in November.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction John F. Huppenthal, a Chandler Republican, lost his bid for re-election to Diane M. Douglas of Sun City West in the primary. Douglas received 4,468 votes in Navajo County and 220,200 statewide, and Huppenthal, 2,271 and 158,988. David Garcia of Phoenix won the Democratic nomination for the top school post, drawing 2,614 votes in Navajo County and 128,226 around the state to defeat Sharon Thomas, also of Phoenix, 4,505 and 113,288.

State Mine Inspector Joe Hart, a Kingman Republican, faced no opposition in the primary election, nor will he in the general. He received 5,500 votes in Navajo County and 332,233 statewide.

The November race for two seats on the Arizona Corporation Commission will feature Democrats Jim Holway and Sandra Kennedy, both of Phoenix, and Republicans Tom Forese of Chandler and Doug Little of Scottsdale. Holway received 3,339 votes in Navajo County and 154,170 statewide, and Kennedy, 5,572 and 201,751. In the Republican primary, Forese received 3,781 votes in Navajo County and 188,370 across the state, Little, 3,657 and 188,617, Lucy Mason of Tempe, 2,232 and 155,072, and Vernon B. Parker, also of Tempe, 1,929 and 122,973.

Navajo County has a total of 55,414 voters, and ballots were cast by 15,357 of them in Tuesday’s election for a voter turnout of just 27.71 percent. Even so, that was better than the statewide turnout rate of 21.02 percent after just 682,581 of Arizona’s 3,247,146 voters went to the polls.