Oct 292014

By Tammy Gray

The Arizona General Election is scheduled on Tuesday, Nov. 4, but most Navajo County races were either decided in the primary or the candidate is running unopposed. Only one county race will be decided in the general as incumbent Steve Price (R) and Sara Owens (I) face off for Show Low Justice of the Peace.

In addition to making local choices, voters in Navajo County will be helping determine who will hold state and national office.

Incumbent Ann Kirkpatrick (D) and Andy Tobin (R) will face off for the District 1 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The statewide race for governor remains crowded, with Doug Ducey (R), Fred Duval (D), John Mealer (Americans Elect) and Barry Hess (Libertarian) all vying for the seat, along with several write-ins, including Independents Brian Bailey, Cary Dolego and Diana-Elizabeth Ramseys Rasmussen Kennedy; Republican Alice Novoa; and J. Johnson and Curtis Woolsey, who claim no party affiliation.

In the contest for District 6 state senator, Sylvia Allen (R) will face off against Tom O’Halleran (I).

Candidates for state representative for District 6 include Democrat Lanny Morrison, and Republicans incumbents Brenda Barton and Bob Thorpe.

Terry Goddard (D) will battle Michele Reagan (R) for secretary of state.

In the race for attorney general, Mark Brnovich (R) and Felecia Rotellini (D) are vying for the seat, along with write-in candidate Anthony Camboni, who claims no party affiliation.

Jeff DeWit (R) is running unopposed for state treasurer, while incumbent Joe Hart (R) is unopposed for mine inspector.

The choice for superintendent of public instruction is between David Garcia (D) and Diane Douglas (R).

Two seats are available on the corporation commission, and the candidates include Democrats Jim Holway and Sandra Kennedy, Republicans Tom Forese and Doug Little, and write-in Independent candidate Joe Hui.

Only three propositions will appear on the ballot, none of which were voter-initiated.

The voter guide published by the Arizona Secretary of State’s office notes, “Proposition 122 is a proposed amendment to the Arizona Constitution by the legislature relating to the rejection of unconstitutional federal actions.

“Proposition 303 was referred to the people by the legislature relating to the use of investigational drugs, biological products or devices.

“Proposition 304 is a recommendation of the Commission on Salaries for Elective State Officers as to legislative salaries has been certified to the Secretary of State and is hereby submitted to the qualified electors for their approval or rejection.”

Proposition 122 would give the state the authority to restrict the use of state and local resources to comply with federal measures that are not consistent with the U.S. Constitution.

Proposition 303 allows the use of investigational drugs and devices by terminally ill patients, and makes it a crime to block the use of such drug or device.

Proposition 304 would raise the salaries of state legislators from $24,000 to $35,000 per year.

All voting in Holbrook will take place at the Catholic Family Center, located at 212 E. Arizona St. Voters who previously reported to city hall will now cast their votes at the family center.

The lone polling place in Winslow will be located at the LDS church social hall, located at 1501 N. Kinsley Ave. Voters who previously cast ballots at the fire station or Bonnie Brennan School will now vote at the social hall.

Joseph City voters will cast their ballots at the old gym at Joseph City Elementary School.

All voters in Snowflake will report to the Snowflake Social Hall, located at 78 W. Center St. Voters who normally vote at Our Lady of the Snow Catholic Church will cast ballots at the social hall.

Taylor Intermediate School, located at 207 N. 500 West, will serve as the lone polling place for Taylor residents. Voters who previously reported to the Taylor Fire Station will now cast their votes at the school.

Voters must show identification in order to cast a ballot. Citizens who have requested early ballots may mail them in, leave them in a ballot drop box or drop them off at polling places on election day.

More information regarding the upcoming election is available online at www.navajocounty.gov/elections or by calling (928) 524-4062.