Nov 262014

By Greg Perkins

Holbrook enters this season as the defending state wrestling champion in Division III, but it will take strong performances for the Roadrunners to repeat last year’s feat.

Several seniors who were key components to last season’s title run have since moved on, leaving gaps for Coach John Bokker to fill.

“It’s going to be hard to replace the seniors we lost from last year. We do have some young talent with two state placers (Theron Johns, who placed fourth at state, and James Ramirez, who placed third) returning. Injuries to some key guys and having no 106-pounder will hurt us early, but we will grow stronger as the season goes and will be tough as nails come state,” said the coach.

Seniors on this year’s team include Theron Johns, Wade Biakeddy, James Sumpter, Sheron Yazzie, Christian Young, Dominic Spencer, Logan Tsinijinnie and Tommy McClaws. Juniors on the squad are Sam Plumb, Noah Barela, Jedde Bowman, James Ramirez, Mac Stump, David Hung, Adriano Sam and Kenia Alvarado. Sophomores include Shane McGraw, Justin Richards, Robert Romo, Kohl Potts, Zach McLaws, Hershal Skeet and David Laughter. Freshmen taking to the mats for the first time as Roadrunners will be Zakhari Waits, Darrin Tyler, Sam Sumpter and Tyler Sanchez.