May 012015

*Squad of Year

Photo courtesy of the Arizona Department of Public Safety

Arizona Department of Public Safety officers from the Holbrook District were recently honored by the Highway Patrol as the Northern Patrol Bureau Squad of the Year. For more on the story, please turn to Page .

At the annual Department of Public Safety Awards ceremony held April 23 in Flagstaff, the Highway Patrol recognized the Holbrook squad under the supervision of Sergeant Otto Walters as the Northern Patrol Bureau Squad of the Year. The squad includes Officers Troy Merrill, Craig Remos, Russ Sipes, Gunnar Hancock, Clay Hensley and Nate Soloman, and formerly Trent Mortenson and Curtis Plumb. The two recently transferred into DPS specialty units. Larry Parks is captain of the Holbrook District.

These officers led the Northern Bureau, which consists of five Patrol Districts, in conducting 6,355 violator stops, issuing 1,488 hazardous citations, 739 non-hazardous, 200 restraint citations, and 4,269 warnings and repair orders. They arrested 21 aggravated DUI suspects, 49 misdemeanor DUI’s, made 135 other felony arrests, 141 misdemeanor arrests and 96 drug related arrests. Additionally, these officers seized a total of 526 pounds of marijuana, 52 pounds of methamphetamine, three ounces of ecstasy pills, an ounce of hashish and more than $12,000 in cash for the calendar year of 2014.

These officers were also very active on the home front as they coach Little League, Youth Basketball and wrestling. They serve in the Boy Scouts of America, aid at the Shepherd’s Kitchen, are active in various church groups, participate in the Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics and provided Christmas gifts for the Naomi House orphanage in Joseph City.

These men were recognized by Department of Public Safety Director Colonel Frank Milstead and Lt. Colonel Daniel Lugo of the Highway Patrol.